Steyn to add venom to Cobras attack

Wednesday, 24 August 2011

The Cape Cobras will have Proteas fast bowler Dale Steyn to lead their attack in the Champions League, while two other Cape acquisitions, Jacques Kallis and Mark Boucher, will play for other teams in the T20 event.
The CLT20 will be Steyn’s first appearance for the Cobras since linking up with the Western Cape franchise last season – he has not represented them yet due to international commitments.
Kallis and Boucher re-joined the Cobras for the coming season only, therefore they were eligible to play for the Warriors, their previous team, in the 20-over event. Kallis, however, opted to play for his Indian Premier League franchise, the Kolkata Knight Riders, instead. In this year’s IPL Kallis hit four half-centuries in his aggregate of 424 runs in 11 innings for Kolkata.
There were seven other players who qualified to play for two teams in the CLT20, and all of them opted to don the colours of their IPL franchises rather than their domestic teams. The seven are Brett Lee, and Brad Haddin (teammates of Kallis at Kolkata), Kieron Pollard, Davy Jacobs and Aiden Blizzard at Mumbai, and Dwayne Bravo and Doug Bollinger at IPL champions Chennai.
Jacobs’ choice of playing for Mumbai means the Warriors will have to decide on a new captain for the tournament, which begins with a six-team qualifying event in Hyderabad from September 19-21.
The Cobras and the Warriors, finalists in last season’s South African Pro20 competition, are already in the main draw for the CLT20 proper, which kicks off in Bengaluru on September 25. The other teams already in the main draw are the South Australian Redbacks, the NSW Blues, the Chennai Super Kings, the Royal Challangers Bangalore and the Mumbai Indians.
The seven will be joined by three from the qualifying event. The six sides in the preliminary tournament are Kolkata, Trinidad & Tobago, Auckland, Ruhunu (Sri Lanka), and two teams from England (to be decided on August 27 in the semi-finals of their domestic competition).
Owais Shah, player of the tournament in the Pro20 last summer, will play for the Cobras.
CLT20 squads
Cape Cobras: JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Justin Kemp, Rory Kleinveldt, Charl Langeveldt, Richard Levi, Johann Louw, Justing Ontong, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Andrew Puttick, Michael Rippon, Owais Shah, Dale Steyn, Dane Vilas.
Warriors: Johan Botha, Nicky Boje, Mark Boucher, Andrew Birch, Colin Ingram, Justin Kreusch, Lyall Meyer, Makhaya Ntini, Wayne Parnell, Ashwell Prince, Jon-Jon Smuts, Kelly Smuts, Rusty Theron, Craig Thyssen, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.


Post a Comment

Blog Archive

Search This Blog