AB, Steyn make ODI Team of the Year

Tuesday, 13 September 2011

AB de Villiers and Dale Steyn have been named in the International Cricket Council ODI Team of the Year, which was announced in London on Monday.
De Villiers and Steyn also made the ICC Test Team of the Year, announced a fortnight ago.
“This has been an outstanding year for 50-over cricket. I think everyone saw in the ICC Cricket World Cup how exciting this format can be,” said ICC Awards selection panel chairman Clive Lloyd.
“The ICC Cricket World Cup was rightly applauded as one of the greatest in history and no one who was in Mumbai will forget that remarkable evening,” he said.
Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis and JP Duminy will also be up for top honours at the 2011 ICC Awards.
Amla is nominated for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC, Cricketer of the Year and for ICC ODI Player of the Year.
Kallis is up against the English trio of James Anderson, Alastair Cook and Jonathan Trott for the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year, as well as the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award.
Duminy is nominated for the ICC T20 International Performance of the Year.
ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order): Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL), Virender Sehwag (Ind), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), AB de Villiers (SA), Shane Watson (Aus), Yuvraj Singh (Ind), MS Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper/captain), Graeme Swann (Eng), Umar Gul (Pak), Dale Steyn (SA), Zaheer Khan (Ind), 12th Man Lasith Malinga (SL)


Post a Comment

Blog Archive

Search This Blog