England win toss, field first

Saturday, 3 September 2011

Durham, England – England captain Alistair Cook won the toss and put world champions India into bat in the first of their five one day internationals here on Saturday.
India – who are seeking to restore some honour after losing the test series 4-0 and the one-off Twenty20 – surprisingly left out master batsman Sachin Tendulkar, replacing him with Parthiv Patel, and leaving him stuck on 99 international hundreds.
India also handed Ajinkya Rahane his one-day international debut which leaves just four of the side that won the World Cup beating Sri Lanka in April.
The home crowd were given a filip as Durham star Ben Stokes got the nod from the England selectors.
England: Alastair Cook (capt), Craig Kieswetter (wkt), Jonathan Trott, Eoion Morgan, Ian Bell, Ben Stokes, Samit Patel, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, James Anderson, Jade Dernbach
India: Parthiv Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Rahul Dravid, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (capt/wk), R Ashwin, Praveen Kumar, R Vinay Kumar, Munaf Patel.
Toss: England
Umpires: Billy Doctrove (WI) and Richard Illingworth (Eng)
TV Umpire: Marais Erasmus (SA)
Match referee: Jeff Crowe (Nzl)


Post a Comment

Blog Archive

Search This Blog