Ryan ten Doeschate wins ICC Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year 2011

Wednesday, 14 September 2011

Netherlands all-rounder Ryan ten Doeschate has become the ICC Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year for the second successive year at the LG ICC Awards in London.

The voting academy chose ten Doeschate over other top Associate and Affiliate players including Afghanistan?s Hamid Hassan and the Ireland duo of Paul Stirling and Kevin O?Brien. It is the third time ten Doeschate has claimed the award, the first time he picked up the title was in 2008 while he also won the award last year.

During the 12-month voting period, all-rounder ten Doeschate played for the Netherlands in six ODIs making two centuries and one half-century. His batting average was 61.40 for the period with a strike rate of 89.24.

The 31-year-old Essex player scored both his ODI centuries during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, the first against England in Nagpur and the second against fellow Associate side Ireland in Kolkata.

Ten Doeschate, who was unable to attend due to playing commitments, said upon winning the third ICC award of his career said: ?I?m really sorry I couldn't be there tonight. It's obviously a great privilege to win this award and I'd like to thank all the coaches and my team mates who have helped me during what has been a very good year for the Netherlands cricket team. I hope everyone has a good night and again sorry I can?t be there.?

The Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year Award was one of ten individual prizes given at this year?s LG ICC Awards. It was announced by Hashim Amla of South Africa.

The Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year award serves to recognise and reward the efforts in all international matches of the outstanding cricketers from the teams outside the ICC Full Members.

Based on the period between 11 August 2010 and 3 August 2011, the LG ICC Awards 2011 ? presented in association with FICA ? take into account performances by players and officials in a remarkable period for the game.

For all the individual awards (with the exceptions of the Women?s Cricketer of the Year and the Umpire of the Year), a long-list compiled by the selection panel was forwarded to a 25-person Voting Academy made up of former players, respected members of the media, an elite umpire and an elite match referee. They voted on a three, two, one basis (with three being the highest value) and the winners emerged.

That period includes such high-profile events as the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 in India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, the ICC Intercontinental Cup final, several ICC World Cricket Leagues as well as several bilateral Test and ODI series.

The LG ICC Awards ceremony is now in its eighth year and this year it will be held in London, England. Previous ceremonies were held in London (2004), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007 and 2009), Dubai (2008) and Bengaluru (2010).


Post a Comment

Blog Archive

Search This Blog